HOME  |  SITEMAP  |  DIRECTORY

Municipal Court
Driver's Safety Course

Taking a Driver's Safety Course (commonly referred to as Defensive Driving or DSC) is one way to keep a citation from being a conviction on your driving record.

 

Upon the timely completion of an approved driver’s safety course and the return of the Certificate of Completion and a current copy of your driving record to the court, the state defers your citation.

To be eligible to request Driver's Safety Course:

    1. You must not have taken a Driver's Safety Course (DSC) for a ticket dismissal within the 12 months preceding the date of your citation.
    2. You must request to take the Driver's Safety Course on or before your scheduled appearance in court.
    3. You must have a current, valid driver's license and be able to present of copy of it to the court.
    4. You must have a current automobile insurance policy in your name and you must be able to present of copy of it to the court.
    5. You must be able to pay the court costs of $134 plus a $10 dismissal fee in full ($144 total) at the time the Judge approves your request.

    You are Not Eligible for a Driver's Safety Course if:
    • You have a commercial driver’s license
    • You are charged with:
      • speeding 25 miles per hour or more than the posted speed limit or
      • speeding in a construction zone or
      • speeding in a school zone or
      • passing a school bus while loading or unloading children
    • You have taken a course for ticket dismissal within the 12 months preceding the date of your citation.

     

    If you are eligible and want to request to take the Driver's Safety Course:

      1. Request DSC either by completing the Municipal Court Plea Form or by appearing in person at Big Sandy Municipal Court on or before the court date and time listed on your citation.
      2. Complete and submit a sworn (notarized) Driver's Safety Course Affidavit with your plea form.
      3. Submit a color copy of the front of your current, valid, Texas Driver’s License with your plea form.
      4. Submit a copy of a current, valid, automobile liability insurance with your name on the policy with your plea form.

       

      If the judge approves your request to take Driver's Safety Course:

      1. Pay the court costs of $134 plus a $10 dismissal fee ($144 total) in full immediately. There are no extensions or payment plans for this payment.
      2. Complete the Driver's Safety Course within 90 days.  NOTE: The Big Sandy Municipal Court does not recommend any specific DSC.  As long as the course has been approved by the TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation) and/or the TEA (Texas Education Agency), it meets the State's requirements.
      3. Submit the signed Certificate of Completion and your certified Driving Record (obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety) to the court within 90 days.

       

      Remember:

      • If you do not complete the course within 90 days, you will be deemed to have failed the course and will have to pay the balance of your citation along with possible additional fines; and the citation may be a conviction on your driving record.
      • If you do not turn in your Defensive Driving Certificate of Completion and your Driving Record to the court within 90 days, you will be deemed to have failed the course and will have to pay the balance of your citation along with possible additional fines; and the citation may be a conviction on your driving record.

      Copyright © City of Big Sandy, Texas  2016.

      powered by ezTaskTitanium TM