News from Big Sandy!
City Council votes to cancel May 4, 2019 Election

Four people won their positions with the City of Big Sandy when the qualifying period for candidates in the city’s May 4, 2019 election ended February 15, 2019 with no one challenging them.

Mayor Sonny Parsons, Councilman Michael Baggett and Councilman Don Cochran were automatically locked into new two-year terms.  Councilman Andrew McIver, who was recently appointed to fill the council position vacated by Dr. Cindy Bauter in July of 2018, is automatically locked into a one-year term ending in May 2020. 

In each case, they were the only people who filed for their respective offices on the May 4, 2019 ballot.

City Secretary Laura Rex issued a certificate of unopposed candidates at the City's regular council meeting on Tuesday, February 19, 2019.  After receiving the certificate of unopposed candidates, the City Council approved a resolution cancelling the May 4, 2019 election.

Copyright © City of Big Sandy, Texas  2016.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM