Skip Navigation
Deferred Adjudication

Deferred Adjudication (Deferred Disposition) is a method to have your citation dismissed upon the successful completion of a probationary period – with the minimum 30 days and a maximum of 180 days probationary period.   Even though you plead “guilty” or “no contest,” the court does not “find you guilty.” Instead, the court defers further proceedings and places you on probation for a period of time with conditions of probation.

Generally the primary requirement of a deferred adjudication is that you do not get another citation in the state of Texas while on probation; however, the court may impose additional requirements including but not limited to community service, tobacco, or alcohol classes.

Deferred Adjudication must be granted by the judge.

To Be Eligible for Deferred Adjudication 

  • You must make the request either in writing or by appearing in person at Big Sandy Municipal Court on or before the court date and time listed on your citation.  
  • You must pay the fine amount in full within your deferment period. The fine amount and fee will not be accepted prior to deferred adjudication being granted by the judge. There are no extensions or payment plans for deferred disposition.


You Are Not Eligible for Deferred Adjudication if:

  • If you have a commercial driver’s license
  • You are accused of
    • speeding 25 miles per hour or more than the posted speed limit or
    • speeding in a construction zone or
    • passing a school bus while loading or unloading children


Additional Requirements if You Are Under 25 Years of Age

  • You must complete a Driving Safety Course (Defensive Driving) 

Contact Us

Phone:  903-636-5534

City Court
100 N Tyler St
Big Sandy TX 75755

Business Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 12 p.m.

Mailing Address:
PO Box 986
Big Sandy TX 75755

Copyright © Big Sandy, Texas  2020

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM